Back in October I wrote a piece about a painting I really love - Capriccio: St Paul’s and a Venetian Canal, by William Marlow. It’s an obscure painting - it’s held in the Tate’s collection but it’s rarely on display - and Marlow is an obscure painter. I have googled gently over the twenty years since I saw the painting and have seen a few of his pieces, most of them sort of fine but not particularly memorable. Anyway. A few weeks back I was watching the Netflix Christmas movie, A Castle for Christmas. It’s set in a Scottish castle and I don’t need to bother you with the plot. The important thing is that as Cary Elwes and Brooke Shields walked through the castle in one scene, I thought I saw a very familiar shape high up on the wall - a painting in amongst paintings. This one looked a lot like Capriccio, but the colours were darker and the outline felt slightly different. I was intrigued! (I am boring.)